Join us on LEAP day, February 29th 2024, to honor two outstanding community leaders, Katya Armistead and Kristen Miller, at our LEAP Awards. Each year, LEAP hosts a virtual event celebrating two individuals who have positively shaped the lives of the children and families in Santa Barbara County.

Free virtual event

February 29, 2024


Join us on LEAP day for a special celebration!


Katya Armistead
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Dean of Student Life at UC Santa Barbara

Katya Armistead—a student-focused administrator with over 30 years of experience—currently serves as the Assistant Vice Chancellor and Dean of Student Life (AVC/DOS) at UC Santa Barbara. In her campus leadership role, Katya demonstrates broad concern for issues that pertain to the quality of student life of UCSB students (especially outside of the classroom); facilitates problem-solving and crisis response; promotes inclusion in the campus community and equitable access to UC Santa Barbara learning environment by students of all identities and liaises between students and University administration by listening broadly to student input and representing student perspectives and interests.

Read more
Kristen Miller
President and CEO of Santa Barbara South Coast Chamber of Commerce

Kristen Miller leads the Chamber as President & CEO with over 25 years of experience. Prior to the merger of the Santa Barbara, Goleta and Carpinteria Chambers of Commerce, Miller led the Goleta Chamber team since 2002, coming from the Corning, New York Chamber of Commerce. Under her leadership, the Chamber has been a catalyst for business, running robust public policy and economic development programs.

Read more




Carrie Towbes and John Lewis



Goleta Councilmember James Kyriaco and Angie Swanson-Kyriaco

Lori and Evan Goodman

Ken and Jo Saxon


Katya Armistead and Tim Prichard

Paul Didier

Jim and Chana Jackson

Jason Patton

LEAP Reads

Miles Ashlock

Martha Levy

Dr. Mattison

Rachel Tennant

For more information, contact

Past Honorees

Dr. Liz Barnitz, Jon Clark, Carrie Towbes, PhD, Jordan Killebrew, Monique Limón, Steve Ortiz, Ken Saxon, Wendy Sims-Moten